Recent Posts
Posts Are Coming Soon
Stay tuned...
Featured Posts

Degree Girl "Shawntel"

My name is Shawntel Suttice. I was born in Fort Worth, TexasX on December 18th, 1996 I am currently attending Sam Houston State university majoring in Fashion Merchandising with a minor in General Business. I have always wanted to attend college and this has been a dream of mine since middle school.

Before attending college, I experienced health related challenges I have been a Type 1 diabetic since the age of two years old. As a result of my health issues, my mother had to leave from the Army. In addition, I was diagnosed with epilepsy which I was able to get rid of after seven years.

Currently, I am in my last year of college. While in college, I was diagnosed with multiple medical issues such as anemia. allergies, high blood pressure, depression, and anxiety. It has been very difficult to continue college without

medical insurance. However; I am still overcoming many of my obstacles.

I am the President of the Fashion Merchandising club, Tamiochus of the Kappa Mu chapter of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Incorporated, Historian of the NPHC council, and a participant of TRiO Student Support Services. I advise all young ladies to always pursue their dreams regardless of what people say. I have been told many negative things. One thing that I was told is that I am too ill to be far away from my hometown. A second thing I was told was to take a year off to work on my health. I am keeping good faith and find laughter very therapeutic.

My anticipated graduate date is August 2019 and I am doing this while dealing with everything that I listed above.

I am already a "Degree GIrl" due to my strong faith. Thanks for reading my story and hope that it can be an inspiration to anyone that is dealing with a health issues or any other issues that may prevent them from pursuing their dream of a college education.

Sincerely,

Shawntel

Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square